Make your own free website on


Erosion prevention and sediment control on construction sites are becoming major components in our local governments’  water quality improvement plans.  Consequently, an enormous amount of public and private resources are being devoted to this issue.


The new awards program provides the opportunity to recognize local and regional companies and individuals for their contributions in preventing environmental damage to our waterways.


As the development community becomes more aware of erosion prevention solutions, local jurisdictions hope to reduce the level of enforcement necessary to meet water quality standards.

Text Box: Text Box: Participating Jurisdictions:

Nomination Requirements

Each nominated site must meet the following:

·          Nominations will be accepted from the participating agencies for construction work projects performed inside their service areas.

·          Self nomination for permitted projects will also be accepted for consideration of an award.

·          Project phase must be completed in the 12 months prior to April 30th.

·          Nominated project or site cannot have any enforcement actions beyond required routine inspections

·          Nominated site is voluntarily maintained on a regular basis.

·          Must achieve a level of erosion prevention and sediment control that meets or exceeds the local agency’s minimum requirements and protects the environment


Awards Program

Representatives from local jurisdictions In the area around Portland, Oregon have developed a regional awards program to recognize businesses and individuals for outstanding erosion prevention and sediment control achievements in Clackamas, Multnomah, Washington and Clark counties.

Awards Categories

The first Annual Erosion Prevention Awards Program is accepting nominations in two categories: (1) single family and (2) non-single family construction.  Non single family construction includes multi-family, subdivision, commercial and industrial.

Award Selection


Participating jurisdictions will use a regionally coordinated set of specific criteria and evaluation methods to standardize the review for each category.  Nominees will be evaluated using this specific criteria. Each participanting jurisdiction will individually select its best local contractors / developers for exceptional practices or programs.


Participating jurisdictions will individually award a single-family and a non-single family award at the  regional award breakfast ceremony June 28, 2002.

Regional Recognition will consist of :

·          A display award suitably inscribed with the recipients name.

·          Published articles will be placed in the Association of General Contractors newsletter, Metropoliton Portland Home Builders Association Newsletter, and the Building Industry Association of SW Washington newsletter, as well as the Daily Journal of Commerce and in additional local media.


·           March Newsletter



Erosion Control Northwest

 A Division of Crown Landscape, Inc.  LCB 6181

City of Lake Oswego    

City of Beaverton

City of Hillsboro

City of Portland  

Water Environment Services 

Clean Water Services   

Oak Lodge Sanitary  District 

City of Wilsonville 

City of Milwaukie

City of Gresham   

City of Oregon City 

City of Canby  

City of Cornelius 

Clark County 

City of West Linn